Go on and Stare at a Wall

It can’t be a coincidence that today my good friend, Danielle, over at Monday Morning Mom, posted that she was planning to pare down her Facebook friends’ list and spend less time online. She and I are “kindred spirits” (Anne of Green Gables, anyone?). We’re definitely on the same page on this one. Earlier today, I was also thinking that limiting screen time altogether might be just what the doctor ordered.

Being introverted and spending the majority of my time around people is just plain exhausting. After working from 8 to 5 on weekdays, I fill my evenings with quality time with Dustin and Josiah. Although my family time is what I work and live for, it also takes energy. In the evenings, and at sporadic times throughout the day, I have been finding myself online more and more. Whether it’s reading the latest news, scanning social media, or streaming some sort of mindless video, this so called “alone time” is filled with thoughts from SO MANY other people.

Sometimes I just need to sit and stare at a wall.

Wall

I need to listen to what my spirit is asking me, and that is for some down time; some peace and quiet that doesn’t add anymore ideas, nor take anymore energy from my brain. I need time to process and re-energize, but when I settle for screen time, I’m adding a whole other element of mental chaos.

Even if you aren’t introverted like Danielle and me, there is still a need to catch your breath mentally. And that means you need to stop running, at least for a little bit…So go on and stare at a wall.

Leave a Reply

